2019 NCAA D2 Outdoor National Championships Begin Thursday

2019 NCAA D2 Outdoor National Championships Begin Thursday

KINGSVILLE, Texas - The four Cavaliers that are competing in the NCAA Division II Outdoor Track and Field National Championships are on the ground in Texas. The National Championships begin on Thursday (May 23) and the Cavaliers quartet will be in action on the first day. 

Live Results: https://results.leonetiming.com/?mid=1690

Live Video: https://www.ncaa.com/liveschedule/2019/05/23

Brianna Coy (Women's 10,000 Meter Run) and Lane Knoch (Men's 400 Meter Hurdles) will be making their first NCAA Outdoor Nationals appearances this week. Jacob Kernell (Men's 3000 Meter Steeplechase) and Andra Lehotay (Women's 1500 Meter Run) are returning to Nationals for the second and third time, respectively. 

All four will compete on day one of the event with three prelims and one final on Thursday. 

Coy, making her outdoor track debut at Nationals, will compete in the 10K Run finals at 9:55 PM Eastern (8:55 PM Central). She qualified for Nationals in the 10,000 Meter Run after she set the school record at the Bryan Clay Invite in Asuza, California in April. Coy's record time of 35:29.94 ranked sixth in the Midwest and 15th in Division II. She was named G-MAC All-Conference Second Team as she finished second at conference in the 5000 Meter Run. 

Knoch will run in the 400 Meter Hurdles prelims at 9:40 PM Eastern (8:40 PM Central). Knoch makes his first National appearance following a school record performance in the last meet of the regular season, 52.14 seconds at Mount Olive. He has the fourth fastest time in the Midwest and 18th quickest in Division II. The sophomore was All-Conference First Team after he won the G-MAC title in the 400 Meter Hurdles and was second in the 110 Meter Hurdles. The finals will be run on Saturday at 8:30 PM Eastern (7:30 Central). 

Kernell is running for the second time at Nationals when he takes to the track at 8:55 PM Eastern (7:55 PM Central) in the 3000 Meter Steeplechase. The senior qualified last year in the 3000 Meter Steeplechase, where he finished 18th with a time of 9:26.13. He shaved nearly 35 seconds off his time a year ago at the G-MAC Championships earlier this month. His championship time of 8:52.87 was a school record and G-MAC meet record, as well as the fastest time in the Midwest. He slots fifth in Division II with his time. With a G-MAC Championship in the Steeplechase and a second place in the 5000 Meter Run, Kernell was dubbed the Male Track Athlete of the Year by the conference coaches. The finals will be held on Friday at 8:30 PM Eastern (7:30 PM Central). 

Lehotay, making her third straight outdoor Nationals appearance, is participating in the 1500 Meter Run prelims on Thursday at 6:55 PM Eastern (5:55 PM Central). Her qualifying time came from the Raleigh Relays, where she ran a 4:23.16. Lehotay's time ranks second in the Midwest and seventh in Division II. The two-time Outdoor All-American won the G-MAC title in the 1500 and was second in the 800, earning First Team All-Conference in the process. The finals will be held on Saturday at 6:35 PM Eastern (5:35 PM Central). 

-WC-