Baseball Earns ABCA Team Academic Excellence Award

Baseball Earns ABCA Team Academic Excellence Award

(GREENSBORO, N.C.) - The American Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA) is proud to honor nearly 300 member college and high school programs with the 2018 ABCA Team Academic Excellence Award. For the third consecutive year, Walsh has been named as a recipient.

This is the third year the ABCA has given out the award. The Cavaliers were the only team in the G-MAC and one of just three in the Midwest Region to earn the honor.

Teams from every level of college and high school baseball were recognized with this year's award, which highlights programs coached by ABCA members that posted a GPA over 3.0 on a 4.0 scale for the entire 2017-18 academic year.

"We are thrilled to be able to honor all of this year's Team Academic Excellence Award recipients," said ABCA Executive Director Craig Keilitz. "It is a privilege for our association to have the opportunity to highlight so many deserving teams and recognize all of the hard work they put in off the field throughout the year."

A record number of teams were recognized with the 2017-18 ABCA Team Academic Excellence Award. In total, 287 college and high school programs received this year's award, including 93 high school programs and 76 teams from NCAA Div. III.

Coaches were able to nominate their teams for the ABCA Team Academic Excellence Award following the conclusion of their spring semesters prior to the nomination deadline of July 18. To be honored, teams had to meet the following criteria:
• Must be a high school or college team.
• Head coach must be a current ABCA member.
• Team must have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.00 on a 4.0 scale during the 2017-18 academic year.

The American Baseball Coaches Association has a long tradition of recognizing the achievements of baseball coaches and student-athletes. The ABCA/Rawlings All-America Teams are the nation's oldest, founded in 1949, and the ABCA's awards program also includes the ABCA/Rawlings All-Region Awards, the ABCA/Diamond Regional & National Coaches of the Year and several other major awards such as the ABCA Hall of Fame and the Dave Keilitz Ethics in Coaching Award.

NCAA Division II Recipients
Augustana University (SD)
Azusa Pacific University (CA)
Bentley University (MA)
Cal Poly Pomona
California State University, East Bay
Eastern New Mexico University
Fairmont State University (WV)
Goldey-Beacom College (DE)
Harding University (AR)
Holy Names University (CA)
Lafayette College (PA)
Lenoir-Rhyne University (NC)
Lewis University (IL)
Lincoln Memorial University (TN)
Lindenwood University (MO)
Minnesota State University-Mankato
Missouri University of Science and Technology
Molloy College (NY)
Northern State University (SD)
Nyack College (NY)
Ouachita Baptist University (AR)
Point Loma Nazarene University (CA)
Rogers State University (OK)
Salem International University (WV)
San Francisco State University (CA)
Southwest Baptist University (MO)
Thomas Jefferson University (PA)
Truman State University (MO)
Union College (NY)
University of Illinois at Springfield
University of Colorado at Colorado Springs
University of Mary (ND)
University of Montevallo (AL)
University of Pittsburgh at Bradford (PA)
Walsh University (OH)
Wayne State University (MI)
Winona State University (MN)