Berger Receives Winter 2016-17 GLIAC Commissioner Award

Berger Receives Winter 2016-17 GLIAC Commissioner Award

(BAY CITY, Mich.)  The Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) announced the recipients of the Winter 2016-17 GLIAC Commissioner's Awards on Wednesday (February 19). The awards are presented after the Fall, Winter, and Spring athletic seasons to six female and six male student-athletes that excel both in the classroom and on the fields of play. All grade-point averages are based on a 4.0 scale.

The six female student-athletes recipients are: Sarah Berger (Walsh), Andi Daugherty (Ashland), Manuela Ferreira (Wayne State), Angela Ritter (Grand Valley State), Laina Snyder (Ashland), Emily Wendling (Saginaw Valley).

The six male honorees are: Jon Cok (Ferris State), Michael Lewis (Wayne State), Samora Nesbitt (Grand Valley State), Chris Saikalis (Grand Valley State), Oshane Thomas (Lake Superior State), Joey White (Findlay).

Berger has been one of the best athletes to come through Walsh University regardless of sport. She is a four-time All-American in track & field and an All-Region honoree in four different sports. Two of those All-American honors came this season at the indoor national championships where she was third in the mile run with a time of 4:42.38 and a member of the fourth-fastest DMR team in history with a time of 11:20.61. Her performance helped the Cavaliers finish ninth at the championships.

She also was an All-Region selection in soccer and cross country. On the pitch as a defender, she helped lead the Cavaliers to a 10-6-4 record, a GLIAC Tournament semifinals appearance, and eight shutouts in the best defensive team the Cavaliers have had in program history. Less than 24 hours after playing in the GLIAC semifinals, she traveled to Evansville, Ind., to help the cross country team finish ninth in the region out of 32 teams and finished 22nd individually with a time of 21:30.28.

Berger is also one of the smartest students in the classroom and has earned numerous academic honors as well such as GLIAC All-Academic Excellence, OCSA Academic All-Ohio, and NSCAA NCAA Division II Women's Scholar All-East Region Team.