Two Cavaliers Headed for Finals at Nationals

Two Cavaliers Headed for Finals at Nationals

KINGSVILLE, Texas - Four Walsh Cavaliers runners took to the track in Texas for the 2019 NCAA Division II National Championships on Thursday (May 23) at Javelina Stadium. 

Two runners are qualified for the finals as Andra Lehotay and Jacob Kernell will run again this weekend. 

Lehotay will run Saturday (May 25) at 6:35 PM Eastern (5:35 PM Central) in the 1500 Meter Run Finals after she won her heat with a time of 4:37.40. 

Kernell clinched his spot in the Friday (May 24) final for the 3000 Meter Steeplechase. He was 11th in the prelims with a time of 9:17.67 and will run again at 8:30 PM Eastern (7:30 PM Central) on Friday. 

In the 400 Meter Hurdles prelims, Lane Knoch finished with a time of 55.45, finishing 20th overall. 

Brianna Coy concluded her career in the 10,000 Meter Run after she set the school record in that event earlier this year. 

-WC-